2001 Report of the Coordinating Committee for Comparative Literary History in European Languages

The Committee held its annual meeting in Kingston, Ontario, Canada on September 27 and 28, 2001. We are pleased to announce the new slate of Committee members that will take office beginning today, October 1st, 2001 for a three-year period:

President:Mihály Szegedy-MaszákVice-President:Randolph PopeSecretary-Treasurer:Daniel F. ChamberlainPublications Liaison:Eugene Eoyang

Continuing Members: Jean Bessière Eduardo Coutinho Margaret Higonnet John Neubauer Luz Aurora Pimentel Ann Rigney

New members: Richard Aczel (University of Cologne) Marshall Brown (University of Washington, Seattle) Fernando Cabo Aseguinolaza (University of Santiago de Compostela) Marcel Cornis-Pope (Commonwealth University of Virginia) Elrud Ibsch (Free University of Amsterdam) Eva Kushner (University of Toronto)

We request a small change in our by-laws: changing the Office of Secretary to that of Secretary-Treasurer and replacing the office of treasurer with that of Publications Liaison. We have renewed our contract with Benjamins to continue publishing our volumes. In the year 2000-2001 we have published our fourteenth and fifteenth volumes:

A History of Literature in the Caribbean English and Dutch-Speaking Regions, Ed. A.James Arnold

*L'époque de la Renaissance: crises et essors nouveaux 1560-1610*, Ed. Eva Kushner and Paul Chavy

In 2001-2002 we will publish our sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth volumes:

*Romantic Poetry*, Ed. Angela Esterhammer *Epoche im Ueberblick*, Ed. Horst Glaser and Gyorgy M. Vayda *L'Aube de la Modernité*, Ed. Roland Mortier and Peter-Eckhard Knabe

We expect to receive the revised text of Non-Fiction Romantic Prose (ed. Steven Sondrup and Virgil Nemoianu) early in 2002. This will be our nineteenth volume.

The project on Romantic Prose Fiction (Gerald Gillespie, M. Engle and B. Dieterle) has received approval in principle and is in process. Other projects that are now in the early stages of development are Modernism (Vivian Liska and A. Eysteinsson) and Comparative History of the Literary Cultures of the Iberian Peninsula (Fernando Cabo Aseguinolaza and Darío Villanueva). We have also had discussions on projects on Realism-Naturalism, The Baroque and A Comparative History of Scandinavian Literatures.

I want to take this occasion to say goodbye to the many colleagues in the ICLA with whom I have had the pleasure of working. My nine years as President of the Coordinating Committee have been marked by efforts both to recognize the singular achievements of the Coordinating Committee as the ICLA's editorial committee and also by an unprecedented attempt to abolish peer review publishing. We have weathered the storm, but we must recognize that it was a totally unnecessary waste of time. I hope that in the future, colleagues who are not acquainted with the work of the Coordinating Committee will be asked to become knowledgeable; all that is needed is for each person to consult the web page:

http://www.chass.utoronto.ca/iclacc/

Finally, let me end by thanking all those who have worked with me and the members of the ICLA Executive Committee for the opportunity to serve our Association.

MARIO J. VALDÉS October 1, 2001