

Dissertation award Dennie Lockefeer Chair

Regulations established by the steering committee of the Chair Dennie Lockefeer

- 1. To stimulate studies on intermodal transport (road IWT rail), the Dennie Lockefeer Chair awards an annual prize.
- 2. The Chair Dennie Lockefeer wants to reward a student and/or graduate, preferably under the age of 30 at the time of application for the prize, for a bachelor- or master thesis with high scientific value.
- 3. The bachelor- or master's thesis must be written in Dutch or English.
- 4. The bachelor- or master thesis must deal with a subject related to intermodal transport.
- 5. The prize package consists of gold 1 000 EUR, for the winner of the thesis prize. Silver 500 EUR for the student/graduate in the second place and bronze 250 EUR for the student/graduate in the third place. In addition to the check, a certificate will also be handed over.
- 6. The bachelor- or master's thesis must be submitted one academic year earlier at the relevant university or university college. The theses that are eligible for the 2025 prize were submitted in the academic year of 2023-2024.
- 7. In 2021, the steering committee decided to award prizes following the partner packages (see Article 5). Depending on financing, the steering group can change the amount and periodicity of the price.
- 8. A call is launched annually in autumn.
- 9. The submitted theses must be submitted in digital form (doc file + pdf file). An executive summary, curriculum vitae, and motivation letter will also be added. These documents must be sent by 31 January 2025 at the latest to the following mail address: katelyn.tahaney@uantwerpen.be. The receipt is confirmed. After the selection of the best candidates, you will be asked to deliver 3 printed copies to the university. Deliver this to: Universiteit Antwerpen, Faculteit Bedrijfswetenschappen en Economie, Departement TPR, Katelyn (Katie) Tahaney, Prinsstraat 13, 2000 Antwerpen, België
- 10. The Department of Transport and Regional Economics (TPR) ensures the implementation of these regulations.
- 11. After the submission date, the holder of the chair first examines the admissibility of the applications and makes a preselection (from long-list to short-list). The nominees will be invited to the Spring 2025 steering committee for an oral explanation of their thesis. An interdisciplinary committee will appoint a laureate before 1 May 2025. The committee is composed of the promoters of the Dennie Lockefeer Chair, a representative of Van Moer Logistics, golden partners, and other scientific and sector experts. The decision taken by the majority vote is not communicated. No appeal is possible against the jury's decision.
- 12. Taking into account the vision of Dennie Lockefeer, the Committee takes into account both the scientific qualities and the social and economic relevance of the study in its assessment. The committee has the authority to decide whether the thesis prize is not awarded.
- 13. The electronic version of the award-winning thesis will be published on the website of the University of Antwerp appropriately.

Golden partners Dennie Lockefeer Chair











